A Quick Round Up of the Testing Championship

28 Apr

With the final testing session coming up next week I thought it would be a good idea to let you know what the standings are. The testing championship is a championship which takes place during testing. Each day of testing there’s 15 points up for grabs, 5 for the driver who sets the fastest time going down to 1 point for the 5th fastest.

Here are the drivers standings:

  1. Sebastian Vettel             Red Bull              17
  2. Romain Grosjean          Lotus                   15
  3. Fernando Alonso          Ferrari                 14
  4. Jenson Button                McLaren             12
  5. Sergio Perez                    Sauber                 12
  6. Nico Hulkenburg          Force India        11
  7. Kimi Raikkonen            Lotus                   11
  8. Jean-Eric Vergne          Toro Rosso        10
  9. Daniel Ricciardo           Toro Rosso        10
  10. Michael Schumacher   Mercedes             9
  11. Pastor Maldonado        Williams             9
  12. Nico Rosberg                  Mercedes            9
  13. Kamui Kobayashi          Sauber                 9
  14. Mark Webber                  Red Bull               8
  15. Paul Di Resta                  Force India        8
  16. Lewis Hamilton             McLaren             7
  17. Felipe Massa                   Ferrari                 3
  18. Bruno Senna                    Williams            3
  19. Jules Bianchi                  Force India        2
  20. Heikki Kovalainen         Caterham           1

Although on the face of things it appears that any one of the top 18 drivers could win this championship, but because not every driver will be driving every day only a few drivers have a chance of winning. To see which drivers these are and what each driver needs to win the championship look out for a post that will be called “Who can win the testing championship”.

Here are the teams championship:

  1. Lotus                26
  2. Red Bull           25
  3. Sauber              21
  4. Force India     21
  5. Toro Rosso     20
  6. McLaren          19
  7. Mercedes         18
  8. Ferrari              17
  9. Williams          12
  10. Caterham          1

So far only one team doesn’t have a chance of winning the constructors championship and that’s HRT who aren’t turning up to compete. To see what each team needs to win look out for the post  “Who can win the testing championship?”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: